Having access to the Space does not mean that the user will automatically be able to access everything in it. You have to either make the content visible to everyone in the space or exclusively invite specific users to it. This article outlines how to do it for the process maps. You might also want to read these articles:
- Creating team spaces for collaboration
- Inviting users to the Space
- Managing user permissions on a Space
- Access control on a Space
- Personal spaces: no sharing
- Map permissions
- Inviting to map / sharing a diagram
- Making a process map visible to everyone in the space
Personal spaces: no sharing
Every user who self-registers starts with a personal space and access to a few public spaces with some example process content. It is important to note that personal spaces only offer the basic process mapping functionality and you cannot invite other users to that space or to the content in it. If you wish to collaborate with other users you need to create a new space which by default will be a team space.
Before you grant access to your map to any user it is worth understanding different permissions that can be given so that you can choose the correct one. By default any new map you create is visible only to yourself, the owner. You need to either invite users to it or make it visible to everyone in the space.
There are a number of different user levels within a map:
- Map owner: Map editor who can also define who has access to a map and the levels of access (more advances access control available on a PRO plan).
- Map manager: has the same rights as Map owner, can invite other users and grant them different permissions. They can't change the map owner.
- Map editor: they can edit, comment on and view diagrams and attachments (subject to individual diagram edit rights)
- Map viewer: these are the users you explicitly invited to a map or shared a diagram with. They can only view diagrams, attachments, and make comments.
- Space viewer: If the option "All users can view map" is turned on then these are all the users in the space that can now view your process map. If you would like to make any of those viewers an editor you must first explicitly invite them to a map and grant them the edit rights.
Inviting to map / sharing a diagram
You can grant someone access to the process map by either inviting them to the map or by sharing a diagram with them. There is no diagram-by-diagram view rights so if you share one diagram from a map with someone they will have access to view the whole process structure. Click here to read more about diagram sharing.
Click "Invite to map" from the right panel of the maps list.
If a user has not yet registered, they will be invited with whatever message you have added. On a FREE Space, a user who is a VIEWER in the space can be made an editor on a map (and by extension in the Space) by any other map editor. On a PRO Space, due to licensing implications, a user who is a viewer cannot be made a map editor without an editor license in the space.
On a FREE space any user who has been invited to a process map can invite any other user to it or copy the map to any other space. Access rights management is available on a PRO plan.
Making a process map visible to everyone in the space
You can also make a process map visible to every user in the space by simply turning on the toggle "All users can view map". This will grant every user the "Space viewer" permission.