If you are in a team space you can share a diagram with your colleagues straight from the process mapping application. This sends them an email with the link and a screenshot of the diagram.
Important: if you don't see the "share" button you are in a personal space. You need to create a team space instead.
- How to share a diagram
- How to share diagram with multiple people
- Sharing diagrams and giving edit rights
- Sharing diagrams and access rights
How to share a diagram
You just need to click share in the upper right part of the screen.
This will prompt a dialog where you can type either the name or the email address of the user you wish to share this diagram with. Use the first option if they are already members of the parent space, and the latter if they are not or if they are not even registered. You can also leave them a personal message that will be included in the email.
The user will receive an email like this with the link and a screenshot of the process diagram.
How to share diagram with multiple people
You can share the diagram with up to 10 different users. Just click "Add another user" text button in the share diagram dialog.
If you want to invite a lot of people to the space and give them all access to this particular process map, you might want to import a lot of users to the space instead and make the map visible to everyone in the space. You can also provision users to Elements using corporate management or Salesforce.
Sharing diagrams and giving edit rights
In Catalyst app process maps are hierarchical. It means that you can have multiple levels of process diagrams from the highest level of abstraction to the greatest detail of your business operations. When you share a particular diagram with other users you are in fact inviting them to the whole process map as viewers.
If you want any of those users to be able to edit this or any other diagram in this map you first need to make them an editor on the map. You can then restrict their edit rights to particular diagrams.
Sharing diagrams and access rights
Any user who gets invited to or has content shared with them from the space becomes a member of that space and can access any content in it. And as explained before, user who gets a single diagram shared with them can also access the whole map from which the diagram comes from.
This is scary.
Fortunately, you can easily control who can invite users to spaces and who can grant access to process maps. You can also manage map permissions down to individual user level.