After each sync of your Salesforce Org our system analyses whether a field, an apex class, an object or any other part of your Salesforce configuration has been changed, added or removed from your Salesforce Org. We then highlight these changes in the Org model as well as send an email listing all of those changes to the org model owner.
- Keeping track of Org changes
- Rules behind the "Updated" status
- Rules behind the "Deleted" status
Keeping track of Org changes
Keeping track of any changes to your Salesforce Org is easy. After every sync we send you an email listing all the new items that have been added, changed or removed from your Salesforce Org. That list allows you to click on a matching URL to open the Org model on an appropriate node and inspect it.
You can also see status changes while exploring the Org model:
Rules behind the "Updated" status
Elements Catalyst alerts you that something has been updated in your Salesforce Org but we do not specifically tell you what has changed - you need to do the investigation yourself. With time, as we continue to fetch more metadata out of Salesforce, we might provide you with more detailed summary. Until then here are the 3 important rules behind the "Updated" status:
- Salesforce ID has changed :
This usually happens when you refresh your connected sandbox or when a new version of a managed package has been released. Very rarely this can be forced by Salesforce if they migrate your Org to a new instance.
- Node summary has changed:
"Summary" is an Elements field where we summarize some key metadata for different items. If summary has changed between syncs we would flag that item as updated. Here as some example summaries for different items:
- Fields of type picklist: summary contains picklist values
- Fields of type formula: summary contains API names of fields used in the formula
- Permission sets and profiles: summary contains information on how many users are assigned to each one + profile summary contains some settings
Each Salesforce item's summary contains slightly different information, it is good to inspect each updated item type separately.
- Last modified date has been updated : for each type of node this date is updated after different actions, for instance:
- Apex code has been changed
- Description or help text have been added/updated
- Profile permissions on a particular object have been changed
The last modified date can be altered by a lot of different actions on each item - so it is good to inspect the "updated" node very closely.
Rules behind the "Deleted" status
A node will be marked as "deleted" if our system failed to get the data from Salesforce. This can happen when:
- an item has been deleted (duh!)
- a manage package has been disconnected from the Org
- an item's API name has been altered (in this case the old node with an old API name will be shown as "deleted" but there will be a new node with that new API name in state "new")