You can connect your Elements PRO Space with multiple JIRA projects in multiple domains and send stories for development.

Setting up the connection

To set up a connection, go to "Space Management" (click on "Manage space" button in the Space list or just click the name of your space at the top of the screen) and select "Connections" in the left-hand menu. Then choose the JIRA tab at the top and click "New project" to create a new development project for JIRA.

You will need to specify your JIRA server URL, username, and JIRA API token.

After that you will be taken to the setup page. Select one of the JIRA projects in your JIRA server to load the data from. Once you confirm the choice, you cannot change it later. If you wish to load a different JIRA project, create a new Elements development project instead. 

Set up Elements story to JIRA story mapping 

Once the JIRA project data is loaded, you can set up Elements to JIRA mapping between statuses and fields. You will see the list of Elements story statuses for which you can select the target JIRA story statuses.

Scroll down to set up fields mapping with JIRA. The summary, release & description fields are automatically mapped and fixed. If you want to, you can map acceptance criteria field or any custom field that you have. 

Register webhook and enable project 

If the JIRA user credentials used to set up the development project belong to "JIRA administrator" then after selecting the JIRA project you can click "register webhook" to set it up automatically in JIRA. You will see a green notification message informing you that the webhook was successfully registered, and it will continue to show it as long as the webhook is succesfully enabled. 

If the webhook is already registered in JIRA, you don't have to re-register it. 

If the JIRA user credentials used to set up the development project DO NOT belong to "JIRA administrator" then after selecting the JIRA project you won't have an option to register the webhook. You will need to send the webhook URL to your JIRA administrator.

The webhook should be enabled for following events:

  • issue: created, updated, deleted
  • comments: created, updated, deleted

Once the webhook is manually registered in JIRA the connection will work; but because user credentials do not belong to the JIRA administrator, you will not be able to see the webhook status in real-time. Instead, you will see the webhook status based on the last successful action. 

Additional steps

Before you enable the project, you must also go to JIRA and enable the "Elements reference URL" custom field for the selected JIRA project & make sure this field is added to all story screens in that project.

Once the setup is complete just enable the project. You can enable/disable the project at any time you want. 

Disabling the projects removes JIRA records from all stories that were already sent to JIRA.

Sending stories to JIRA 

Go to the Changes list and either create a new story or edit the existing one. 

Scroll down to the "JIRA dev project" field. Select one of the created and enabled development projects.

You can then "send story to JIRA" using the three dot menu:

A new story will be created in JIRA based on your Elements story. If you select an Elements release for a story it will be carried over to JIRA upon sending it. Either a new JIRA fixVersion will be created from that release or the Elements release will be linked to an existing fixVersion if it has the same name. The release data is sent to JIRA once and is not updated when story is updated. 

If you edit any data on an Elements story the JIRA story does not get automatically updated. You must sync data using the three dots menu as when you first sent story to JIRA. 


Deleting the JIRA connection 

At any time you can delete your development connection. Just click on the bin icon on the JIRA connections list:

Deleting a JIRA connection is irreversible. This action does not delete any stories in either Elements or JIRA but it removes all connection records between the two. To confirm, you must type the name of the project you wish to delete.

Did this answer your question?